IFTV (FF). for her sake (3)

After that, everything went by so quickly. After TAIM had returned everyone’s memories to normal, I came to realize the Rei that I talked to that night was the Demon Queen, Oohashi Rei. It seemed that she had temporarily borrowed Rei-san’s body to stop me from making a very large mistake. I heard from Rei-san that she had been a huge help within the imagined world as well.

“Tsk… saying that she was mine only to get herself killed, that buffoon.”
“Ah, wawawah! If you’re listening Lily didn’t mean it!”

I was talking to myself in the yard outside of Rei-san’s and Claire-sama’s house. They had invited me over for lunch, but I had managed to come a little early. I stood in front of a small monument erected in memory of Oohashi Rei. She had only lived within this loop as the Demon Queen, so there was no way that she would be mourned publicly. To us though, in our final confrontation against TAIM, she had been one of our greatest allies.

As I stood before the small monument, I couldn’t help but think back to the words that she had said to me that night. After our first, and final, mutual kiss, we sat up on the bed so that we could more easily talk. I was still naked, so we shared the warmth of Rei’s blanket. Even though it was the treatment facility’s blanket, perhaps because Rei-san had used it for an entire month now, it smelled just like her, and was very warm.

『Thank you, Lily-sama, really. I never thought that anyone would ever forgive me. But given the situation, I can’t be here much longer, I need to return this body to Rei Taylor.』
『W-when will we meet again?』

I was sad to have to part with her so soon after we had finally managed to come together. But it’s true that she couldn’t keep using Rei-san’s body like that, I couldn’t stand to lose the Rei-san that I had loved and respected so dearly either. It appears that my sadness was apparent, as she offered a gentle smile before speaking.

『Don’t worry, I’ll be watching over you two. Besides, Knowing this girl, we’ll be able to meet again very soon.”』
『? L-lily doesn’t understand…』
『She’ll definitely remember, and once she does, she’ll need my help. I’d rather not have to help her, but for Claire-sama, and Lily-sama’s sakes, I have no choice.』

Though at that time I still didn’t understand, looking back I knew that she was already thinking about how to get into the Server Room. It seems that she had been playing the game a couple of steps ahead of us, that was also why she had been able to come to Rei and my own rescue that night as well.

『Lily-sama, I think you already know, but this girl has a tendency to be quite rash.』

She spoke with a wry smile, as though she was talking about herself. Perhaps she was aware that those words applied to both of them.

『She has a tendency to get into trouble, so make sure you’re there for her, okay?』
『Y-yes, of course! Lily still doesn’t get the specifics, but she loves both Rei-sans!』
『Is that so, Lily-sama, you really do have a big heart.』
『B-but, of course, right now, you’re Lily’s #1 Rei-san!』

Really, what an embarrassing thing to say! I must have been caught up in the heat of the moment.

『Kukuku, Lily-sama, that’s so precious.』

For the first time, I felt as though I saw genuine happiness within her smile.

『R-rei-san!』
『What is it?』
『Can we justーd-drop the honorifics? I mean it might be complicated if you’re both Rei-san!”
『Oi, just be honest about it, what are you an eggplant!?』

I think that was the first time that weird habit had been directed at myself. To play the fool and then retort at myself, what kind of act was this! Out of embarrassment, I had averted my gaze.

『Fufu, Lily-sama, you’ve always had such a nimble personality.』

Even as Rei laughed, I doubled down, puffing my cheeks.

『Mmrghー!』
『W-what’s wrong, Lily-sama?』
『Not Lily-sama! Call me Lily…! R-rei.』

Though timidly, I managed to make eye contact with Rei when I said her name.

『Okay… Lily.』

Wrapping our arms around each other, we came together for one final embrace.


『Well then, I should return this body to her.』
『Eeh!? A-already?』

As I spoke, I tightened my hold on Rei’s body. I didn’t want our time together to end.

『Fufu, feeling needy are we? But you should be going home as well, or Mei and Alea will be worried.』
『A-ah, that’s true…』

At this point it was clear that I probably wasn’t really Mei and Alea’s guardian. That would be Rei and the person most precious to her. However, at least right now, I was still responsible for them and I had to make sure to protect Rei’s family for her until she was ready to return. I would be alright, after allー

『I’ll leave things in your care, alright?』
『Yes! Lily will do her best!』
『Lily… please, I pray that you find your own happiness too.』
『? W-what do you mean, Lily already…』

Rei reciprocated, pulling me in tight, she rubbed her cheek against mine. Though I couldn’t see her face, I felt a single tear drip from her eyes and onto my cheek. The next moment, as though all of her energy had slipped away, Rei’s body went limp and fell back onto the bed. I gently adjusted her position on the bed, taking one last whiff of the blanket that was still wrapped around me before tucking her in. Changing back into my usual habits, I made my way home

“R-rei… she knew, didn’t she.”

A tear formed a wet streak down the side of the same cheek as that night. Before I could get lost in my emotions however, a voice called out to me.

“Lily-sama? You’re already here! You should’ve just come on in, come on, the food’s going to get cold!”

Turning the other way from the voice for a brief moment, I discreetly wiped away my tears before turning to face her.

“Rei-san! Yes, Lily’s coming!”

As I began to step away from the monument made for my beloved, somehowー

“Lily… I’ll always be watching over you, so please, find your own happiness.”

I felt that I heard her say that. Yes, that’s right, ‘Rei-san’s happiness is Lily’s happiness, so Lily is fine.’ isn’t something that I could allow myself to think anymore. The people around me sincerely wished for my own happiness as well. That was the final treasure that she had entrusted to me. And so, for her sake, for the lone girl who tried to carry everything within her own two hands for multiple millenia, I spoke these words from the bottom of my heart.

『thank you for everything』

Author Comment: Just personally, I really wanted Lily to find happiness, or at least be willing to look for her own happiness. I feel like for the whole story since her introduction, she was okay with accepting Rei’s happiness as her own. I just really wanted to try and open a new door for her.

I hope you enjoyed this! Please feel free to leave comments if you have anything!

Please check out my ko-fi where I’ll be posting updates to projects, and other little extras.

< PreviousArchive – Done >

14 Comments

  1. Cashper says:

    This is canon and no one can convince me otherwise. Thank you for somehow giving Lily hope in finding her own happiness.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sephallia says:

      I’m glad that you enjoyed it ❤

      Like

  2. Lily-sama will definitely find her happiness. Maybe not now but eventually. Let’s hope Inori-sensei will do something in the future.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sephallia says:

      I really believe so too!

      Thank you so much for your comments ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Maru says:

    This fanfic is too precious, I really felt every emotion that was shown. Thank you very much Sephalia, I really liked it, I loved it a lot

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sephallia says:

      Thank you as always for your support Maru! ❤
      I'm really happy that you enjoyed it.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Lime says:

    I’m not crying, I’m definitely not crying *turns to the side of the bed, holding onto the back of my own head, cries fountains*

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sephallia says:

      Thanks for coming by and dropping comments over here too ❤

      Like

  5. Lime says:

    Titled: Lily’s in Love with the Villainess [The Demon Queen]

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Hakuro says:

    >“Tsk… saying that she was mine only to get herself killed, that buffoon.”
    Definitely my favourite line.
    This is great food, it hurts, but at least the last chapters got all the Lily-sama fans used to suffering. I was wondering who could possibly become Lily’s partner without having MC Rei follow the divorce or Mistress routes, now my eyes have been opened.
    (Guess I’ll have to draw a self-indulgent AU where the Demon Queen survives).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sephallia says:

      Glad to hear that you enjoyed it ❤

      Let me know if you do write something, a self indulgent AU where the Demon Queen was saved sounds fluff!

      Like

  7. Dewa says:

    *sobs* I’m not crying!
    You crying!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sephallia says:

      I-I’m not actually crying!! I’m just cutting some onions… ;~;

      Like

  8. kurichan023 says:

    tsk i hate harem

    Like

Leave a Comment