I Favor the Villainess. 267

Shrill Laughter

Once I came to, my consciousness was back in the server room.
It seems that I had collapsed where I stood, so the Pope, Lily-sama, and Irie all looked at me with worry.

“Has your consciousness returned? Rei Taylor.”
“Rei-san… I’m so glad…!”
“We were worried…”

As I propped myself up, the three all looked at me in relief.
Though the Pope remained relatively expressionless, it appeared that Lily-sama and Irie had been quite worried. Lily-sama was practically on the verge of tears.
Though I wanted to apologize for worrying them and offer console, there was something that I must ask before any of that.

“What about Claire-sama?”

Before diving into the system, Claire-sama was nowhere to be found.
Though I was confident that I had succeeded in releasing her consciousness, I didn’t know for sure how that would reflect in reality.

“If you mean Claire François, she’s here.”

When I looked, it turned out the Pope was holding Claire-sama in her arms.

“Thank goodness…”

It seems the operation to reclaim her had been a success.
Claire-sama’s face was also in a good hue and it appeared that she could awake at any moment.

“To think that you would really take back Claire-sama’s consciousness, I can’t believe it.”

This voice, a mix of both exasperation and admiration, belonged to TAIM.
She stood in the very same position that she had when I first dived into the system.
Using her holographic body to its fullest, she made her surprise clear.

“You really underestimated my bond with Claire-sama, didn’t you TAIM. Your ambitions come to an end here.”
“I suppose. As Claire François has returned, the administrator privileges will belong to her.”
“In that case―”
“That’s right.”

At that very moment, TAIM’s face was dyed with ecstasy.

“If things continue to proceed as they are, that is.”
“!?”

A crevice opened between us and the mainframe, allowing something giant to rise up.
It wasn’t just one thing either.
There were enough that we couldn’t count them with our fingers.

“W-what is… that…!”
“A monster…?”
“Incorrect. Those are… scientific weapons.”

The Pope corrected the words that Lily-sama and Irie had spoken out of fear.

At first, they only looked like clumps of metal.
Their surface was coated in a metallic black lustre, showing off how hard they were.
Countless lines split the clumps as they came apart before putting themselves back together, transforming into multiple grotesque monsters.

“Chimaera…?”

Though what they were composed of was different, they had taken the form of the chimaera Claire-sama and I had defeated together in the past.
Once the metals had completed their transformation into the grotesque shapes, a gold flash lit their eyes.

“I based the design off of something within Claire François’ subconscious. Once the privileges are transferred, there will no longer be anything that I can do. But before the transfer completes, it’s a different story. For the sake of humanity’s continued survival, I’ll have you all perish here.”

Alongside TAIM’s words, the chimaeras screeched their war cries.
As they stepped forward with a thud, the entire server room shook.
They did appear to be declaring our end.

“What should we do?”
“What do you mean, what should we do? It doesn’t really appear that they’ll just let us escape, Pope.”
“S-so, are we going to fight? Against that?”
“Our chances seem slim.”

Though the four of us had our own reactions, broadly speaking they were all the same―there was no way we could take on something like that.
Even with conservative estimates, the chimaera were all at least 5, if not 6 meters tall.
I tried casting Judecca, but that didn’t even leave a single scratch.

“Of course I have no intention of letting you escape.”

The door to the server room closed behind us.
It appeared the time we bought by using a hole in the decisionary council to stall the defense system had expired.
We should’ve realized when the chimaera began popping out, but it was all too late.

“… How unbearably noisy.”
“Claire-sama! You’ve woken up!”
“It was quite the rude awakening. What is up with those ugly clamoring monsters…”
“Well you see…”

I gave a quick explanation of the situation.
Claire-sama simply let out an uninterested yawn,

“So, simply put, we must defeat those beasts, right? Isn’t that rather trivial?”
“Defeat them… you mean those…?”
“But of course?”

I wanted to ask, how? But Claire-sama’s expression was brimming with confidence.

“I can’t make any definitive claims, but I do believe there’s something I’d like to try.”
“What’s that?”
“Come now, there’s something that TAIM went out of her way to teach us, isn’t there? For quite a while now I’ve wanted to use it, but because the opportunity never presented itself, I’ve become rather eager.”
“Ah…”

That’s right, come to think of it, we did have that.
In the end, because we never had the opportunity to use it during our fight with the Demon Queen, and since Claire-sama had been missing for the past while, it had slipped my mind.

“! I won’t let you! Burn them to the ground!”

In accordance with TAIM’s panicked words, the chimaera all opened their mouths.
From deep within their throats, a light seemed to pour outward.
I was certain it was an attack appropriate for an enemy that would appear at this stage.
If it were to land, there was no way we were getting off easy.

However―

“Then… shall we let loose?”
“Yes, I believe we shall.”

I no longer felt that it was possible for us to lose.
Claire-sama and I held hands, interlocking fingers, while pointing our magic wands at the chimaera with our other hands
As we held hands, I could feel power overflowing from them.

“I’ll be using Magic Ray.”
“Then, I’ll use Absolute Zero.”

At this stage of the game, what we were going to release was of course―our Chorus.

“Disappear, Rei Taylor, Claire François!”
“The one who’ll disappear―”
“Will be none other than you!!”

As a burning rapture enveloped us both, I felt my magic melting together with Claire-sama’s.
The mixed magical energy coursed through our bodies, through our fingers, and then converged all onto our wands.
Fire and water, these two elements that are normally opposite to each other had come together. They were just like Claire-sama and I, rife with contradictions and yet had come together, forming a harmonious light that gushed forth.

The server room was filled by this light.

“… It can’t be…?”

Once the dazzling brilliance settled, TAIM’s voice, overcome by shock, echoed.
The torrent of light that resulted from my Chorus with Claire-sama had erased all of the Chimaera without a trace.

“Have you had enough? I can’t seem to place why, but I’m at my peak. If you intend to continue, I’ll be your opponent as many times as it takes.”
“If Claire-sama’s up for it, there’s no way I’d sit out. I mean, she’s my wife after all !”
“W-wife…?”
“Oh nothing. Come on, what will it be, TAIM?”

Though we provoked her, TAIM did not show any more signs of aggression.

“Really… this is why humans are…”
“Should I take those as the grumbles of a sore loser?”
“Yes, that’s right, Rei Taylor. The transfer of administrator privileges also appears to be complete. I am no longer able to harm Claire François.”
“Fufu… fufufu… so then we’ve won! Ohーho, ho, ho!”

Claire-sama’s shrill laughter too, sounded much more comforting than it usually did.
Perhaps now, it would be okay to truly believe that things were over.

“So I lost… In the end, perhaps humans simply aren’t something that can be perfectly managed…”
“My, it appears that you’ve come to understand humans quite well yourself.”
“Even if I come to understand at this point, it’s already too late…”
“That’s not at all true. From now on, we must have you become humanity’s good friend that shall walk alongside us.”
“Friend…?”

TAIM’s expression was filled with surprise.

“Is that so strange? Have you not already spent an absurd amount of time with us? Humanity can’t so easily come by a friend greater than you.”
“I’m a… friend…”

TAIM repeated the words, chewing through them, she appeared to be taken aback.
That Claire-sama, discontent with humans, she was even seducing an AI.
This was why I could never put out all of the fires.

“TAIM.”
“What is it, Rei Taylor?”
“I have no intention of giving Claire-sama to you, got it?”
“… I wonder about that. Though I may have given up on the administrator privileges, I am a high spec AI that tends to fixate myself on a variety of things after all.”
“Is that so? Fu, fu, fu…”
“Fufufu…”
“You two, you’re giving off quite a scary look, you know?”
““And who’s fault do you think that is!””
“Eeeh…”

Claire-sama appeared to be saying, ‘What are you blaming me for?’.
This was why oblivious womanizers―or rather, womanAIzers were…

“I don’t really get it, but is it okay to assume things have been settled? If so, let’s get back up. I just can’t seem to settle down here.”
“A-agreed.”

Irie’s suggestion was a very appropriate one.
Lily-sama expressed agreement, and the Pope nodded as well.

“TAIM, for the time being, I ask that you entrust the loop system to me. I’ll make sure things are handled properly.”
“You’re willing to take it over?”
“Not me, specifically. The responsibilities are simply too heavy for any individual to bear alone. We’ll enlist cooperators and decide on a proper procedure, we’ll have humanity decide.”
“…”
“The more important something is, the more dangerous it is that a sole person makes the decision. We must share the responsibility and the risks.
“… How very human.”
“Yes.”

With those words, Claire-sama turned her heel.

“Now, Rei.”
“Yes, Claire-sama.”
“Let’s return… to our home.”
“Yes!”

Leaping into an embrace with Claire-sama, I embraced her with all of my might.


Translator Comment: Rei and Claire literally slamming down on these chimaera with the power of yuri! I love how Rei was worried, but pretty much the moment Claire woke up and Rei saw Claire’s confidence, she knew that they couldn’t lose. I think it was a very fitting end.

Regular reminder to vote in the Anime Japan poll if you haven’t!

< PreviousI Favor the VillainessNext >

24 Comments

  1. I don’t know what I’m feeling right now for the epilogue tomorrow 🤷‍♀️🤷‍♂️

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lost account says:

    I have to prepare for the ending tomorrow, its really a long trip .

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Maru says:

    nothing can beat yuri power. they were finally able to do the chorus, it must be really powerful to defeat the chimera in one go. I am so happy that everything went well!! well, after rereading WomanAIzer, it’s time to listen to this song all day

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The reason why Claire and Rae are so perfect for each other is their sapphic energy just keeps drawing others in. The only way to limit it is to be near each other.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Eresh says:

      Finally they do chorus, i feel like it kind of useless when Rei and Claire never do that when they fought demon king. In the end we will get our Clarium again YEEEYYYY

      Liked by 1 person

  5. cornonthekopp says:

    Wow, womanAIzer huh, ya got me

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Just an NPC says:

    Hey what about Lily-sama?? (@_@)

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Bless the almighty lesbos!

    The last fight is kinda like the first time Claire-sama and Rei worked together (Commoner’s Movement Arc iirc). Ironic that they used the chorus to defeat TAIM yet she was the one who told them about it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sephallia says:

      Yes, I felt it was a bit ironic too.

      But in a sense, from even before then TAIM had already been constructing her own downfall since she created this Rei in the first place. I feel like the whole “Equivalent Existence” thing was only lightly touched on, but that was all TAIM’s doing as well and it’s only because the Pope is also a Rei that they were able to easily learn the location of the server room.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It was a miscalculation on TAIM’s part. She should not have let the Pope (and Irie) lived, and learned the truth of the world. The whole plan was to make a “Rei” that could defeat the original Rei, make Claire-sama as the next admin, and by exploiting the loophole in the system, take the admin role from her. If the pope wasn’t there TAIM would have succeed. She should have know that a human with Rei DNA is bad news lol. I guess AI’s still cant surpass humans in the end.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ann Sears says:

        my god…. the original claire has been dead the whole time….? who’s demon queen been trying to save all this time then? thats even a lot sadder…. ;_;

        Liked by 2 people

      3. Sephallia says:

        Keep in mind that I’m just a translator and this is just my take on things and not an official one lol.

        I just feel like the original Rei was actually too scared to preserve the full original Claire. She wanted to preserve Claire’s soul and be in a relationship with someone like Claire. If you think back to Chapter 17 where all of this was revealed, it was stated that Rei essentially rigged the magical culture so that Claire would be the Villainess making her closer to Rei’s “ideal” Claire. I think if she wanted to preserve the original Claire, she would’ve been more adamant about Claire fulling accepting the Vice Administrator role and retaining her own memories across the loops.

        It’s definitely really tragic, but at the end of her really long journey I think she realized the wrongs of what she was trying to do and hopefully was reunited with the real original Claire in the afterlife…

        Like

      4. Ann Sears says:

        why would you keep making me sad by saying og claire was long ded and og rae has been worrying over something ‘fake’ all this time

        its basically saying og rei sufferings for countless years were all for nothing and even iF og claire mightve been waiting for her the whole time in the afterlife(?)

        that would make og claire has been waiting in the abyss of nothingness by herself for as countless years as og rae has been repeating things

        thats like the worst fate ever, its even worse than countless sufferings og rae has been through

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Sephallia says:

        Like I said it’s just my own interpretation and I’m sorry that sharing it has made you feel more sad. To me I think it makes the ending that much more impactful, and the current timeline that much more meaningful.

        I wouldn’t necessarily say that OG Rei has been worried over something “fake” this whole time. To me, every Claire after the first one has been as real as the last one, but they are all slightly different. None of them can be the very exact same Claire that the first one was. They all live different lives, and grow in slightly different ways.

        To clarify how I think about things though, the OG Claire and OG Rei both died together. I think every time the world loops EVERYONE dies and is reincarnated, including OG Rei. The only reason OG Rei doesn’t feel that way is because all of the memories get transferred and preserved to her new soul and body. If there is an afterlife in this world, I think this current Rei has gone to join the many Claires and Reis that have already passed.

        Also it wasn’t for nothing, it is only because of her actions that the current Rei and current Claire exist. There were a lot of other factors involved, like TAIM, and this world’s Manaria, Mei and Alea, but this current world where Rei and Claire’s feelings for eachother truly were able to mutually connect is the culmination of the Demon Queen’s efforts.

        Though she has passed on, I think her will carries on in the current Rei, and the original Claire’s will also carries on in the current Claire. If there is an afterlife, I think they are both watching over the current ones kindly.

        I think our perspectives on this might be just a little too different. I truly am sorry if I’ve upset you, I guess I just have my own way of thinking about things. While I do think it’s sad, I also think that the way that everything was able to finally come together to result in the current loop where the ending happened is also quite beautiful and touching.

        Also I really appreciate that you’re invested enough that you want to come back and continue the conversation, even if we don’t necessarily agree! ❤

        Like

    2. Ann Sears says:

      do you know where is the original claire now? I mustve missed something here….

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sephallia says:

        I think it’s kind of left up to interpretation, but I think the OG Claire passed after the first loop and has been waiting for OG Rei all this time.

        Like

      2. Late reply. Sorry.

        This is to respond to your question of whether the Original Claire died and where she is now. Well, she’s dead. Kinda. But no. Actually all of the humans died then, but not exactly. Explanation is this: from what I understand, the original Claire and all the other Claires that have lived through many loops have the same soul. In the beginning before the eternal loops, original Claire was ill and on the verge of dying. So in order to save her soul, Demon Queen (or the original Rei) started the “quantization of souls” project even without the authorization from the governments. So all of them (yes all of humans alive at the time including OG Rei and Claire) souls got quantize and reincarnated repeatedly.
        Where is the original Claire now? Currently her soul is in Claire Francois, the cute villainess of the story, the wife of Rei Taylor and mother of Alea and Mei (and Reclaire).

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Sephallia says:

        Thanks for coming to give your take as well! Been a while, hope you’re doing well (:

        I might just be trying to go too deep into the nitty gritty, and probably everyone’s interpretation of what a “soul” is and how that functions will differ, but I feel like the original Claire really did die. Her soul was preserved in a quantized form, but that is ultimately a “copy”. While future iterations of her had that soul as their core and were all Claire in their own right, the original Claire, and Demon Queen as well would’ve both died.

        The only reason the Demon Queen perceives that she didn’t also die and reincarnate in the next loop is because she had to retain her memories to serve the function of administrator. So to her, it felt like she was living a really long life, but to my personal interpretation, everyone dies and reincarnates for each cycle.

        Honestly I’m not even sure what I get from theorizing it this way, but I guess it’s how I’m thinking about things.

        Also in case you’re unaware, I’m working on a fanfiction to celebrate Claire’s birthday, so if that’s something you’re interested in please check back in a couple of days. HOPEFULLY I’ll have it ready in time…!

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Ann Sears says:

    I’m conflicted, I dont know what to feel anymore

    apparently OG rei/demon queen death hit me harder than I expected….

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Rin says:

    Can i ask how old are they during this chapter? thanks

    Like

    1. Sephallia says:

      So it seems Claire was around 17 at the start of the events of Part 2. They spend a fair amount of time in the Empire and then deal with a bunch of shenanigans. It’s not really detailed how long all of that took, but I think it’s reasonable to assume things took a while so Claire is probably somewhere between 18-19 by the end. I think Rei is also around the same age.

      Don’t take this for fact I guess, just guessing from the information I have.

      Like

  10. m says:

    i binge read this and apparently the end is next ??? and man all the discussions up there about their original souls’ fates

    i think that the OG claire was preserved like her soul, but because they don’t keep memories as they reincarnate she doesn’t remember. however, i do believe when the time for them to ‘wake up happens’ this current rei and the artificial copies will not continue on, but OG Claire and Rei would revive, but in that sense it also doesn’t render the current MC rei’s relationship with claire invalid. but i think she wouldn’t exist in the real world. not that it matters much either way, but it’s just so interesting but this is the only way it makes sense ?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sephallia says:

      This is just my interpretation on things, but yes while both Rei and Claire’s souls were preserved, the original Rei could only be considered the original because she carried over all of the memories the whole time.

      In Claire’s case, yes the current Claire has the same soul or base as the original Claire, but ever single loop there were probably either minor or maybe even major differences in certain events and her upbringing. So each and every Claire in each and every loop was in a sense their own individual person. Since our current Rei isn’t the administrator anymore she probably won’t be carrying any of her memories into subsequent loops. In that sense, each and every Rei from now on will also be their own person.

      As for the artificial copies, in a sense it kind of feels like the Pope and Irie have developed into their own person as well, so it’s possible that these artificial souls created with Rei’s as a base, not no longer Rei could continue on in the loop system too. I think there’s a good and a bad side to it, but the series honestly leaves a lot open for speculation.

      This is also assuming the loops do continue, the possibility is left and society could decide against the loops as well, since in a sense it only artificially extends humanity with no real new progress being made.

      If you haven’t already heard, Inori-sensei is also writing a spin-off/retelling of the story from Claire’s perspective. Translations are available up to Chapter 3, and I’m working on Chapter 4.
      https://sephalliblog.wordpress.com/shes-so-cheeky-for-a-commoner/

      In another comment you mentioned being interested in the Original Claire as well. Inori-sensei actually wrote an extra story about an Aquarium Date between the originals. Check it out if you’re interested.
      https://sephalliblog.wordpress.com/2021/11/29/i-favor-the-villainess-skeb-at-the-aquarium/

      Also I don’t know if it would interest you but I wrote some fan fiction for Lily, also hoping that she’d find her own happiness.
      https://archiveofourown.org/works/29933928/chapters/73679787

      If you do pick up on the spin-off I look forward to your reactions over there as well! (:

      Like

  11. RukaDesuYo says:

    Soo. Hmmm. I feel somehow empty for some weird reason😶

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment