I Favor the Villainess. Mei & Alea Birthday SS

Differing Feelings

※An untranslated raw of the story can be found here.
※ Told from the perspective of Alea François (10 years later).
※ It is yet to be decided whether or not this story is to be considered canon.

It wouldn’t be much longer before the twelfth month would come to an end. That is to say that Mei and my own birthdays were rapidly approaching. Each year our entire family would come together and celebrate. As per their availability, Rodd-sama, Yuu-sama, and Misha-san would come to participate as well, and of course Lily-sama would be there too. To me, our birthdays were an important day to be celebrated. But―

“Mei is going to celebrate her birthday at her friend’s place this year.”

Mei dropped that on us during dinner with just a couple of days to go before our birthdays. For only just a moment, the presence of all of the delicious food that Rei-okaa-sama had prepared for us was pushed to the recesses of my mind. The lamplit room appeared to be darker than it normally was.

“What about our celebration at home? You’ll be home by supper, won’t you?”

The first to recover and respond to her was Rei-okaa-sama. Her first move was to check the intent behind Mei’s words. But,

“Nope. I’ll celebrate it at my friend’s place, and sleepover.”

Mei’s response made her intentions clear. Being a teenage girl myself it would be a lie if I said I didn’t feel that my family was a tad overbearing, but I certainly didn’t feel as strongly as Mei seemed to.

“Mei, celebrating your birthday with your friends is absolutely fine. However, as your family, we want to celebrate your birthday as well, can’t you understand?”

When Claire-okaa-sama finally recovered herself, she gently nudged Mei asking her to be home for supper.

“Mei is already fifteen, you know? Mei thinks it’s well past time that she graduated from family happy birthdays.”

But perhaps as expected, Mei gave a cold answer. Neither her expression nor tone of voice felt cold, but her words made her rejection apparent. Both Rei-okaa-sama and Claire-okaa-sama put on a difficult face and exchanged glances.

“Don’t you think so too, Alea?”

Mei suddenly asked me that. As it was so sudden I was surprised, but I decided to respond frankly.

“I do understand what you mean Mei, but shouldn’t we at least spend our birthdays together? I mean recently you tend to spend all of your time out anyway.”

That’s right. I wasn’t quite sure when it started, but Mei was never home much anymore. After school, she’d often stop by a friend’s place or the marketplace for some snacks. It wasn’t strange for her to only come home well past supper time. I couldn’t help but wonder if Mei had come to hate us.

“Hmm, I see Alea, so that’s what you think.”

Mei said that with a flat expression that I just couldn’t seem to read. This wasn’t anything new. For some time now, I found myself completely unable to understand Mei. Even though, in the past, we had understood everything about one another.

“Come on, Mei. I think we should celebrate our birthdays together after all. I want to celebrate your birthday as well.”
“… Alea, do you really want to celebrate with me?”
“Of course I do.”

Though our bond maybe wasn’t as strong as it once was, to me, Mei was still my precious sibling. I truly did want to celebrate Mei’s birthday along with her.

“…”

For a while Mei simply stared at me without saying a word.

I still couldn’t quite read her intentions.

“Nah, Mei’s good. Mei will be spending her birthday at her friend’s. Thanks for the food.”
“Mei!”

Ignoring my voice, Mei took her silverware to the wash basin.

“I guess she’s just hit that age, hasn’t she…”
“What do you mean that age… She’s only fifteen.”
“What are you saying, Claire? When we were fifteen, we were already lauded as the revolutionary maidens.”
“… Now that you mention it, I suppose so.”

My mothers appeared to be saying something, but their words didn’t reach my ears.

“… Mei… just what happened…?”

 ◆◇◆◇◆

“―So that’s what happened last night.”
“I, I see…”

The next day, I visited Lily-sama to ask for her advice. Lily-sama must not really keep much in her room. Her belongings were few and humble, befitting that of nun. The chair she offered me creaked as I sat down.

“Lily-sama, would you happen to know anything? I’d like to make up with Mei.”

I spoke these words from the bottom of my heart. I couldn’t tell what Mei was thinking, but if I had done something to make her angry, I wanted to apologize and make things right.

“Mm, hm… I wouldn’t say that I’m sure, but it’s not like the two of you are actively fighting or anything, right?”

Lily-sama sat and thought for a while before finally saying that.

“That’s right, nothing in particular comes to mind. But as far as I can tell, Mei has definitely been trying to distance herself from me and our mothers.”
“T-The reason she wants distance between herself and Rei-san and Claire-sama is probably just as Rei-san said. She just happens to be at that age.”

As she spoke, Lily-sama cutely tilted her neck. The fact that she can be so darn cute without trying is just so cruel.

“Really, you’re so cute it makes me angry.”
“A-Alea-chan!?”
“Ah, don’t mind me, I just couldn’t contain my lust.”
“G-Geez, she really does take after Rei-san, doesn’t she…”
“What was that?”
“N-No, nothing at all… She takes after Claire-sama too, yup…”

As Lily-sama continued to mumble nonsense, I continued.

“So back to what we were talking about… So that may explain why she’s distancing herself from our mothers, but then what about me? Is this a result of her hitting that age too?”

In that case, there basically wasn’t anything that I could do.

“Mm… Is it really okay to say this…?”
“Just what is it that you’re hesitating about?”
“N-No… Well, considering Mei’s feelings here, I don’t think it would be prudent to say anything careless.”
“Mei’s feelings?”

I couldn’t help but repeat part of Lily-sama’s unexpected statement. Lily-sama, who was practically a brick wearing clothes and walking around… Understood how Mei felt? Even though I, who had spent my whole life with her, didn’t?

“Just what feelings do you claim that Mei holds?”
“Mm… Hrm…”
“Lily-sama.”
“A-Alright, I get it! I get it, so please don’t make such a scary face!”
“This is just how I always look.”
“A-Alea-chan, even though you and Claire-sama aren’t actually connected by blood, you’ve really taken after her intensity.”
“Of course. I am very proud that she is my mother after all.”
“J-Just what about that is a matter of course…”

As Lily-sama continued to whimper and mumble, I urged her to continue with my stare.

“M-Mei… I think Mei-chan wants to get along with Alea-chan too.”
“… What.”

Unable to understand what she meant, my confusion just slipped out. I mean, I just couldn’t understand.

“Isn’t that strange? If she wants to get along with me, why is she trying to put distance between us?”

I’ve never done anything to push Mei away. She’s been the one pushing me away. And yet, that Mei wants to get along with me? If so, she’s contradicting herself.

“T-The reason Mei-chan isn’t responding well to your affections is because the affections between the two of you are of a different kind, a-at least that’s what Lily thinks.”
“Different kinds of affection?”

To me, there weren’t any other kinds. The bond that Mei and I shared was one of family, a familial love, nothing more, nothing less. Just what else is there?

“L-Lily would feel bad for Mei-chan if she said any more, so you won’t hear any more from Lily.”
“What do you mean that you’d feel bad for Mei…”
“I-If there was one thing that I could say―”
“That you could say?”

I swallowed my saliva in a nervous gulp as I waited for Lily-sama to continue.

“It’s that… Women of the F-François line seem to have the tendency to be rather sinful.”
“Just what do you mean by that?”
“And the fact that they’re all so oblivious to it is so cruel.”
“Lily-sama, I think that you’re the last person who should say something like that.”
“Eh, ehhh!?”

Even though she already knew how I felt about her.

“Could you explain in more detail?”
“I, I can’t. In life… There are just a lot of things… that one needs to realize for themselves.”
“And you’re saying that, this scenario is one of those important times?”
“At least L-Lily thinks that this isn’t something that Alea-chan should be taking lightly.”

Lily-sama offered a smile before she continued.

“T-This feels kind of touching.”
“Just what is touching about this?”
“A-Alea-chan, and Mei-chan, you’ve both just grown up so quickly.”
“I’ve said this a number of times already, but could I ask that you stop treating me like a child?”
“Fufu, you’re both still children in Lily’s eyes. Both you Alea, and Mei too.”

With that, Lily-sama stood from her chair and stood before me. Stretching herself just slightly, to gently pat my head.

“Like I said, stop treating me like a―!”
“It’s only now that Lily will be able to do something like this.”
“… Lily-sama?”
“It really is now, only in times like this, that Lily can treat Alea-chan like a child.”

Lily-sama looked as though she was looking at something fleeting.

“Just what do you mean by that, Lily-sama?”
“Alea-chan is just about to enter into adulthood. Lily is sure that in no time at all, Alea will become a wonderful lady, fall in love, and worry about things and celebrate―”
“Like I’ve been saying, I―!”
“So, even if it’s only for right now, please, let me pamper you.”

When Lily-sama said those words, she looked almost surprisingly mature, to the point where I felt embarrassed that I was so angry over having my head patted.

“If even Lily feels this way, I’m sure Rei-san and Claire-sama feel even more conflicted.”
“… I have no idea what you’re talking about.”

I remained silent, allowing myself to be patted for a while. Perhaps satisfied, Lily-sama withdrew her hand.

“Alea-chan.”
“What now?”
“Please… Take your time becoming an adult.”

Her words were nothing but vexing. I am in love with Lily-sama. And it didn’t seem that Lily-sama hated me either. But Lily-sama’s feelings and my feelings, even though they were similar, there was definitely a huge difference between them.

“… Well, I suppose I’ll excuse myself for today.”
“Sure. Feel free to drop by anytime.”
“Of course, next time I’ll be sure to win you over, so just wait!”
“Goodness, she really does take after Rei-san and Claire-sama.”

Leaving behind Lily-sama who wore a wry smile, I left the area. I heard that my very own Rei-okaa-sama had also struggled to win over Claire-okaa-sama’s heart. And that, in order to do so, she even had to confront Manaria-sama head on. Compared to all that, my current struggles were but trifle. The ladies of the François line were not the type to simply give up.

But―

When I turned back to look at Lily-sama, she somehow appeared so distant.

Bitter End

◆◇◆◇◆

With various concerns still clouding my mind, I returned home to find Mei in the living room.

“Hello Mei, I’m home.”
“Welcome home.”

Without even once making eye contact, Mei looked to leave the room.

“Where are you going?”
“What does it matter to you?”

When I called out to her she responded coldly.

“Mei, would you mind giving me some of your time?”
“Sorry, Mei’s got other stuff to do.”

Mei reluctantly turned to face me, and as I’d come to expect, I was still unable to read her expression.

“I won’t take too much of your time.”
“… Okay, what?”
“Mei, why have you been avoiding me?”
“…”

When I asked her that, I saw a moment’s hesitation flash over Mei’s eyes.

“I’m not avoiding you.”
“Yes you have been.”
“Is this about the birthday thing? Then―”
“No, you’ve been doing it for a while now, haven’t you?”

When Mei tried to dodge the issue, I interrupted her, effectively sealing her escape route.

“If it’s something that I’ve done wrong, then I’d like you to just say it.”
“…”
“If you keep acting like that, even I’ll feel hurt, you know?”
“…”

I did my utmost to warm Mei’s cold heart.

“It’s not like you’ve done anything wrong, Alea. It’s not your fault.”
“Well then―”
“But Alea, you just don’t seem to understand!”
“… Wait what?”

I couldn’t understand what she was trying to get at.

“Just what do you mean by that?”
“… There it is. That’s Alea for you.”
“Like I said, what do you mean?”
“Did you go to visit Lily-sama today?”

Mei very abruptly changed the topic.

“Don’t change the topic―”
“I’m not, it’s all connected.”

When Mei said that her eyes were surprisingly serious.

“Yes, I did go to visit Lily-sama.”
“… I knew it.”
“Hey Mei, could you please say it in a way that I’d understand too?”
“… Haah…”

Mei’s disposition made it clear that this was the last thing she wanted to do.

“Alea, do you like Mei?”
“Of course I do.”
“Then how about Lily-sama?”
“Yes, of course.”
“Which one do you like more?”
“Eh? That’s not something that can be compared.”
“… I mean what can Mei do when she’s like this.”

Mei shook her head from side to side, seemingly fed up.

“Alea, you’re really cruel, you know that?”
“I’ve just about had it. I told you to say it in a way that I’d understand―”
“Is that really okay?”
“… Eh?”

Her interruption felt sharp and thorny.

“Would it really be okay if I said it in a way that you’d understand?”

It somehow felt like something scary lay in wait behind Mei’s follow up question, causing me to hesitate.

“…”
“… Alea you coward.”

With that, Mei again tried to leave the room.

“But!”
“…?”

I frantically called out to her from behind.

“Even if I may be a coward, I do want to get along with you, Mei!”
“… Alea?”

I could tell that tears were welling up in the corners of my eyes. I felt pathetic for crying over something like this. But I was sad. Sad over the fact that Mei was trying to distance herself, and over my cowardly self who had made her say something like that to me.

“Alea…”
“I’m not like you Mei. Unlike you, I’m not good at my studies, and my only redeeming qualities would probably be my cooking and swordsmanship.”

But,

“But I know for a fact that I do treasure you dearly, Mei!”
“Alea…”

I managed to finish my sentence, but after that I couldn’t hold it anymore. I felt sad over the distance growing between Mei and I, and even more sad that I felt powerless to stop her. It seemed that the only thing that I could do was stand here and cry.

“… Really, Alea you’re so unfair.”
“I don’t really get it, but if you’re the one saying it, Mei… I suppose I must be.”
“If you go and cry like that, you don’t leave Mei with any other choice.”
“Like I’ve been saying, please say it in a way that I can understand.”

Before I could realize it, Mei was by my side gently wiping away my tears with a handkerchief.

“Alright, I get it, we’ll celebrate our birthdays together.”
“! Do you really mean it!?”
“I mean, Alea, you just had to go and cry.”
“That’s because you were being mean about it, Mei!”
“I wonder which of us here is the one being mean.”

Mei put on a wry smile. Her smile no longer held the childlike innocence that it once had, but this was the first time in a while that I had seen it.

“Alright, gonna head out for a bit. Gotta go let them know about the change in plans.”
“Ah… Should I go with you to apologize?”
“We’re not kids anymore.”

Mei once again made her way toward the door.

“Alea.”
“Hm? What is it?”

At the door, without turning to face me, she said,

“Mei is going to let you off easy this time, but it won’t happen again, so be ready.”
“Mm? What do you mean?”

I still had no idea just what it was that Mei was trying to say.

“This is exactly the problem… It must be Rei-okaa-sama’s blood.”
“??? You know that we’re not actually related to our mothers by blood.”
“That’s not it… But well, whatever. Alright, be back later.”

After seeing Mei off, the tension drained from my body and I fell to my knees.

“Just what was all that about… Mei was a little strange today.”

She somehow seemed so scary. Almost like an entirely different Mei that I had never met before.

But―

“With this, we’ll be celebrating our birthdays together.”

That invaluable truth made my heart feel very warm.

 ◆◇◆◇◆

“Happy Birthday, Mei, Alea!”
“Congratulations, both of you.”
“Thanks.”
“Thank you very much.”

It was the night of our birthdays. We sat around a table filled with the delicious food that Rei-okaa-sama had prepared.

“Here, Alea. This is our present to you.”
“Thank you.”

Rei-okaa-sama presented me with a small bundle about the size of the palm of my hand.

“Can I open it?”
“Of course, go ahead.”

Urged on, I opened the wrapping to reveal leather wrapped around a cylinder.

“My, isn’t this leather from an Arch Boar?”
“The leather grip on your sword’s hilt is in tatters, right? Please go ahead and get it changed.”
“I wanted to give you something more fitting for the occasion, but Claire said that you’d be much happier with a practical gift.”

Claire-okaa-sama was right. It wasn’t as though I wasn’t drawn to cute things, but I found myself much happier receiving something I could use.

“Thank you, mothers!”
“Not at all.”
“I’m glad that you like it.”

When I thanked them, both my mothers smiled happily.

“Can Mei open hers too?”
“Sure.”
“Yes, go ahead.”
“What’s this… A… Letter set?”

Mei received a pen and some stationary, as well as some wax seals.

“Well, Mei, it just seems that you’ve been a tad short on words lately.”
“In particular, isn’t there something that you should be communicating to Alea?”
“Mothers!!”

For some reason, Mei panicked in response to Rei-okaa-sama and Claire-okaa-sama’s words. It’s been a while since I’d seen Mei act like that.

“Fufu. If it’s something important, it’s all the more important to put it into words.”
“Just take it as some advice from your mothers.”
“Well gee, thanks! I’ll be helping myself, then!”
“Ah, hey wait, Mei! No fair!”

As though to distract everyone from something else, Mei began eating. Seeing that, I rushed to secure some food for myself.

“… I guess I still can’t outdo my mothers, can I?”
“What do you mean, Mei?”
“I mean that Alea, you’re still the most childish!”
“Eeehh!?”

Though there were some ups and downs, the night continued peacefully. Once again, I was able to spend this time together with my one and only irreplaceable family.

Happy End.

(Happy Birthday Mei and Alea!)


Translator Note: I never thought about it like this, but I guess my birthday is actually exactly 2 weeks after the twin’s birthday. Also a mere 3 days after Lily’s birthday. Feeling some sort of December solidarity… Regardless, I’m glad to be able to share this this story with the English community!

I’m a little curious as to what direction Inori-sensei will take things… Incest is obviously a contentious topic, but I do still think that it can be an interesting dynamic to explore in fiction. I think Alea x Lily sounds like a really interesting ship as well… Well, I suppose it’s left to see if we might get an answer from Inori-sensei’s future writing.

Also, if you aren’t already aware She’s so Cheeky for a Commoner Chapter 4 has been pre-released on Inori-sensei’s platforms. Please consider supporting her to get early access. There are still a couple of days before the public release starts, so hopefully this was a nice read in the interim! I hope to see you back here for that too (:

sephallia.

10 Comments

  1. Ah I see so much potential of this story. Maybe it will be harem?🧐 Alea in love with Lily and May in love with Alea is so interesting. May & Alea is absolutely Rei & Claire-sama daughter lol 😂. Also at the end, its seem like Rei & Claire-sama is teasing Mei lol 😏. I hope they will get along well soon 💌.

    Also, Happy Birthday Sephallia 🎂. Thank you for always translating Inori-sensei’s works for us 🙏🙏🙏.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah I see so much potential of this story. Maybe it will be harem?🧐 Alea in love with Lily and May in love with Alea is so interesting. May&Alea is absolutely Rei&Claire-sama daughter lol 😂. Also at the end, its seem like Rei&Claire-sama is teasing Mei lol 😏. I hope they will get along well soon 💌.

    Also, Happy Birthday Sephallia🎂. Thank you for always translating Inori-sensei’s works for us 🙏🙏🙏.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sephallia says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed the story! Yeah if Inori-sensei chooses to continue these plots I’m really curious where she’ll take things.

      Thank you for celebrating my birthday as well ♡ I’ll continue to do my best!!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. And Rei call Claire-sama just “Claire”. This is so cute development 😊😊😊.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. girlslovegirlsthatareinlove says:

    Hm. out of all the short stories we have seen, i dunno how to feel about this one. i love all of wataoshi, but as a lesbian i was excited by the more wholesome/pure aspects of the family dynamic in the main series as its hard to find such a thing in the GL genre sometimes. i personally like to think of meis feelings here as a fleeting crush, as that kind of feeling is normal at a young age even between relatives. well, it’s not necessarily canon anyways, so its no big deal! regardless of my thoughts, thanks sephallia for the TL of all of these short and supplemental stories, they’re some of my favorite parts of the IFTV series and im happy to be able to access them in english, and good luck with the SSCFAC updates!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. RukaDesuYo says:

    Ooh my god i dont expect alea would fall in love with lily tbh😂. And man the incest route too i dont mind tho. I gladly accept it.if inori sensei do gonna make the story progress avout them☺️

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Episode says:

    OH man, you just can’t drop one really interesting extra chapter and not continue it. I want more teen Mei and Alea chapters now but I wouldn’t be able to (yet) T_T

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Abbas says:

    Hi Sephallia,
    Thanks for translating this side story, I really enjoyed it. I read on the wataoshi fandom wiki that there is a commissioned story that talks about Alea and lily and was wondering which one is it?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sephallia says:

      Hello Abbas! Sorry, I haven’t actually had the time to translate the commissioned story yet. I do intend to translate it one day, but I’ve been busy with work, and some other projects.

      In the meantime, Mei and Alea’s birthday story is somewhat related as well, so if you’re interested maybe check that one out!
      https://sephalliblog.wordpress.com/2021/12/27/i-favor-the-villainess-mei-alea-birthday-ss/

      Like

  8. Claire Hickey says:

    Hoo boy if what’s in this chapter becomes a plot point in the sequel novels then I feel like it’s gonna put a fair few people off. I’ll definitely be reading them myself when they come out since I have every faith that Inori can handle such heavy subject matter without making light of it, but yeah that’d be polarising for sure.
    Thank you so much for translating this and for all the other work you’ve done too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment