Turn Around and Face Me! 14

The Script

The play the drama club intended to put on was based on a romantic folktale traditionally passed down within our kingdom.

“I see, it’s based on Amour’s Poem.”
“Oh, Alea, so you were aware. Well, I suppose you would be. After all, I guess it was a very important event for both Claire-sama and Rei-sama.”
“Yeah.”

Every year, around the end of spring and the beginning of summer, Bauer hosts something called the Festival of Amour. The folktale that served as the basis for this festival was Amour’s Poem. The festival involved a competition over one’s romantic interests. Using a scale said to be given to us by the Great Spirit, participants competed over the value of the items they offered to the scales.

Our very own Mother Rei herself once competed against Sousa’s Queen, Manaria Sousa, vying in an intense rivalry over Mother Claire. Then, finally, on the holy grounds of the Amour Ceremony itself, Mother Rei won and our mothers were united happily ever after―or so they thought, but that was when they found out that Manaria-sama was not actually after Mother Claire, but rather, Mother Rei. Manaria-sama suddenly held Mother Rei close and pulled her in for a kiss! That was when Mother Claire stepped in and for the first time, showed just how possessive her feelings for Mother Rei were―these events were very well known among those involved. It should also be mentioned that whenever this topic was brought up in front of Mother Claire, she would immediately put the one who did it in a stranglehold, so within the François household, bringing it up was strictly taboo.

But I digress.

“So Lydie and Louise, you two will be the leads?”
“Yup. Louise will be the maiden, and I will act the role of the shorter man who marries her.”

Amour’s Poem details the following. A taller man and a shorter man both fell in love with the same holy maiden. The men both held influence in the kingdom, and they continued to compete in order to display their affections for the maiden. However, being as influential as they were, their competitions led to disorder within kingdom politics. That was when the maiden the men loved prayed unto her god, and that god bestowed upon her the scales.

―Have them make offerings upon these scales. The one who the scales favor, he shall be your husband.

The tale goes on to state that the holy scales chose the shorter man’s offering, making him the maiden’s husband. Meanwhile, the heartbroken taller man was able to devote himself entirely to the kingdom, eventually becoming an outstanding king.

“Who’s playing the taller man?”
“Another one of our club members. She’s shorter than I am, so she’s going to have to wear elevator shoes.”
“I see, you really do make an effort to keep the casting accurate. So? What role are Mei and I playing?”
“Well, first, I’d like you to look through our script.”

With that, Lydie gave Mei and I each a script. While the script was relatively thin, the pages were all properly bound meaning it was well put together. Flipping it open, we found the lines for what we believed to be our intended roles already underlined.

“The scene we’re having you two take on is meant to be the climax of the first half of the story. The two of you will be lovers that symbolize the chaos the kingdom had fallen to.”
“Hmhm, I see… Wait? You don’t mean…”
“Yes, that’s exactly it. I never conceived that some cosmic coincidence would have the two of you take on these roles, so… I must apologize, but it’s just how things turned out.”
“…”

Amidst the taller man and shorter man’s feud, the kingdom was said to have fallen into chaos. In Bauer, the interpretation of that chaos was one of sexual depravity. In other words, the two of us were to play the role of―

“Sisters who harbored a mutual, but forbidden love.”

 ◆◇◆◇◆

“Well that’s an unexpected twist.”
“… Sure is.”

It was our second day of practice with the drama club. Once classes were out, both Mei and I again joined the members of the drama club for practice. Lily-sama and Simone did occasionally drop by to help, but since our class still had its own preparations to do, the two of them were focused on that. They had also temporarily taken over the responsibilities that I should have been responsible for as the class representative.

This became clear as we got ourselves involved, but our academy’s drama club wasn’t all that large of a club. Even counting the members handling behind the scenes activities, such as backdrops and props, there were still just under twenty members. With club members already spread thin, it suddenly made sense that they needed external help to fill in.

“Mei, how do you feel about it? The roles we’ve been cast have turned out to be… Peculiar.”
“… Mei doesn’t mind. How about you?”
“I don’t mind either. After all, this is just a play.”
“… Right.”

Mei poured herself a cup of water from the pitcher and chugged it all in one gulp. Hm? Somehow Mei seemed to be in a bad mood.

“Hey, Mei, you―”
“Hey there, Alea-chan, Mei-chan. You’ve both been hard at work.”
“… Same to you, Louise.”
“Hello Louise, good work to you too.”

Just as I was about to follow up with Mei, Louise came to greet us. Having just finished with her own part in practice, she wiped her sweat with a towel.

“So? Are you two settling in okay?”
“Yes, thanks for asking. The other members have also treated us very well.”
“… Everyone’s been kind.”
“I’m sure they have! I mean, because the two of you agreed to help, we were saved from having to cancel our play.”

As she spoke, Louise wore a wide smile. I didn’t believe that she was faking her smile, but as an actor, she was definitely more expressive than the average person, so her smile was very attractive.

“Having tried it, I can’t help but feel that drama and swordsmanship have some things in common.”
“My, is that so?”
“Yes, like the importance of a proper step, needing to shift my center of gravity, and disciplined control of my arms and legs. There is definite overlap with swordsmanship and it’s been interesting to see that from the perspective of acting.”
“I see. I’m an absolute novice in swordsmanship, but Alea-chan, the refined way you carry yourself while acting is far beyond what I’d expect from a beginner. I’d bet that you’re good at dancing too, aren’t you.”
“Well, yes.”
“I knew it! This play doesn’t have any dance scenes in it, but I’d be happy if you’d consider making a guest appearance in one of our other plays.”
“I’ll uhm, think about it.”

I didn’t quite expect her to come at me so enthusiastically and I felt a little overwhelmed.

“… Mei’s struggling. Mei’s never liked things that need physical exertion.”
“Hm? Is that so? But Mei-chan, while your movements have felt a tad stiff, your facial expressions have been excellent! In fact, it’s especially surprising considering how expressionless you usually are.”

Louise very aggressively praised Mei as well. But yes, she was right. I wasn’t aware until now, but whenever we were acting scenes, Mei’s facial expressions appeared rich with emotion. Her usual deadpan pout was nowhere to be found, and in their place, a smile as bright as a sunflower, overflowing tears like a sudden downpour of rain, and joy as radiant as the sun itself. Seeing this new side to Mei surprised me, but also captivated me. Time and time again, as we stood on stage.

“If you are able to make faces as expressive as that, why are you always so deadpan?”
“… ‘Cuz there’s no need to.”
“Hmm, what a shame.”
“… That aside, are we going to make it for the festival?”
“That’s… Up to Lydie and I.”

When Mei asked that in order to change the topic, Louise seemed a little troubled as she answered and offered a strained smile.

“But you two are practically perfect!”
“… Mei thinks so too.”
“Thank you for saying that, that makes me happy. But it’s still not good enough. As the leads, Lydie and I have yet to fully grasp our roles.”

Even when we gave our honest impressions, Louise furrowed her brow.

“Just what do you mean by―”
“Hey hey! Louise! You’re up!”
“Ah, I’ll be there! Sorry, it’s my scene.”
“A-Alright.”
“Oh right, I almost forgot. I heard that monsters have been appearing on academy grounds more frequently… Since our practices often run late, we should head to the dorms together as a group after to be safe.”
“… Got it.”
“Alright then, you two, let’s do our best!”

With that, Louise returned to the stage.

“Monsters… That’s not good, especially not now.”
“… I heard the plan is to exterminate them all before the festival.”
“They’ve become increasingly cunning haven’t they… I hope everything goes alright.”
“… Mei got an official request to participate in the sweep.”
“Wait what? But I never got anything.”
“… Alea, you’re already the class representative. Also, it seems they specifically sent requests to people with high proficiency for magic.”

That didn’t quite sit right with me, but well, if Mei would be there I could rest easy. But hm―

“Hey, Mei?”
“… What?”
“What do you think it means to fully grasp your role?”
“… Who knows? I don’t really understand drama that well, but―”
“But?”

Returning the cup she held to the desk, she folded her towel and was about to say something,

“… Nevermind. You wouldn’t get it, Alea.”
“Who says you get to decide that!?”
“… I mean.”

Mei’s next words stabbed deep into my chest.

―Alea, you’ve never once felt weak, or troubled by that weakness, have you?


Translator Note: I suppose this is the other side to the coin of Alea’s confidence. The fact that she can brute force through situations is special because others can’t really do the same. It’s a little ironic that the play includes sisters who hold mutual feelings. While Alea remains unaware, there have definitely been hints that Mei has feelings for her. I wonder what this will mean for them.

< PreviousTurn Around and Face MeNext >

If you have the means and are feeling generous, please consider supporting me at my Ko-fi.

Leave a Comment