Turn Around and Face Me! 17

Trouble

And finally, the Culture Festival was upon us. For a time, we had been worried about the monsters, but it would seem those concerns had been unfounded. Blessed by the beautiful weather as well, you could say today was shaping up to be the perfect day for our academy’s Culture Festival.

The festival was a booming success drawing guests native and foreign to Bauer. Thanks to the teleportation gates being operational, one could see guests hailing from the Naa Empire and Appalachia mixed among the crowd as well. Mother Claire had called the teleportation gates technology that would, “shrink the world”, and I had to say that I agreed wholeheartedly. Mother Rei on the other hand seemed to be wary about something, but to me, it just felt too convenient not to make use of.

It should be mentioned that the Culture Festival wasn’t just generally successful, but our class’ café specifically too had drawn in many customers.

“The roast beef sandwich is readyー!”
“Table 8 is ready to order!”
“A group of customers is on their way out~!”
“Thank you for coming!”

Our kitchen and wait staff were both operating at full tilt making rounds back and forth our cramped café space. There was a reason that we were so busy.

“The marshmallows for that table and candy for this one. Oh and fill up a bowl with some dried fruit for that table over there.”

Under Simone’s instructions, our classmates distributed sweets to various guests. This was actually the result of the posters that Simone and our other classmates had drawn. Simone came up with the idea to include a little passphrase that could be found on the posters. Anyone who mentioned that passphrase when ordering would receive an extra little treat on the side.

One of our classmates who worked with Simone on the posters pat her on the shoulder.

“Great idea Simone, you hit the jackpot with that one! Just what I’d expect from the daughter of a large commercial firm!”
“And aren’t you the one that suggested that we keep the details about what the sweet was a secret? If we said cookies or something, we would’ve already run out. Thanks!”
“It’s not that big of a deal.”

For a time, Simone had been having trouble getting along with the rest of the class, but it seemed that she fit in just fine now.

“Simone, this is for table 5. On your way back, could you retrieve the cutlery on tables 1 and 2 as well?”
“Sure thing.”
“Mei, I need you to take table 8’s order. The new guests that just came in will be looking to order too, so if you can, please take care of them as well.”
“… Got it.”
“W-What should L-Lily be doing!?”
“Lily-sama, could I ask you to help in the kitchen? It seems they’re having trouble keeping up.”
“R-Right away!”

As for me, I was acting as wait staff while also keeping an eye on the overall situation and directing my classmates as needed. Being able to focus on my job like this felt so simple. Focusing all of my faculties on my current task meant that I didn’t need to worry about anything else.

(Though just the fact that I still had room to entertain such idle thoughts was proof that my mind was drifting.)

Giving myself a stern slap to my cheeks, I took my fingers and pushed the corners of my mouth upward to form a smile and refocus before heading back out into the café floor.

“Welcome!”

 ◆◇◆◇◆

“Alea~, Mei~, we can take care of the rest here, so you two should hurry and help the drama club get set up~ Isn’t it almost time~?”
“Ah, you’re right. Thank you.”
“… Thanks.”

When one of our classmates called out to us, I realized that we were cutting it closer than I had thought. Mei and I rushed into our café’s staff room and quickly changed.

“Alright then, Lily-sama, Simone, we’ll be going then.”
“… Later.”
“B-Break a leg…!”
“We’ll rush there too once we get the chance!”

After the two of them sent us off, we hurried out of the classroom. Considering necessary preparations, we didn’t actually have much leeway before the start of the show. Trying to hurry, Mei and I made a little run toward the academy’s indoor gym which had been converted to a theater for the festival.

“…?”
“What’s the matter, Mei? If we don’t hurry, we’ll be late!”

We were nearly at the theater, but Mei came to a sudden stop.

“… I need the restroom. I’ll be there in a bit.”
“Okay, see you there.”

Splitting up with Mei, I hurried ahead of her.

“Alea, you’re late!”
“My apologies! My tasks with my class took longer than I thought.”
“The excuses can come later! Hurry, you gotta get changed!”
“Right.”

At this point, the ice had long broken between myself and the other members of the drama club. We were all now friends working together for the success of this play. I couldn’t help but feel that I had gained another irreplaceable bond.

“Wait, where’s Mei?”
“She said she needed the restroom, I’m sure she’ll be here soon.”
“Ah, gotcha.”

It was then that I heard someone clap their hands together.

“Hey everyone, please stop for a moment and listen.”

Lydie turned everyone’s attention to her.

“Everyone, I believe that we’ve made every effort to prepare for this and have come together as the best team there could ever be. I wanted to take this moment to thank you all for that.”
“Oh come on Lydie, cut the hyperbole.”
“Save the theatrics for when you’re on stageー!”

At a glance what the other club members were saying might seem cold, but that just served to show how close they really were. They all trusted Lydie to stand before them and lead them.

“For the sake of the club… And for my own sake, I want to make this play a success. All that’s left is to see things through―isn’t that right?”

With that, Lydie directed a passionate gaze toward Lousie. Louise looked Lydie in the eye and nodded. As I watched their exchange, I couldn’t help but feel that there was something more there. To them, it was more than just making the play a success. I couldn’t quite piece together what that may be, but I decided to take note and keep it in the corner of my mind.

“I’d also like to thank Alea and Mei… who’s… not here quite yet, for agreeing to act as fill-ins on such short notice. Really, thank you so much.”

Lydie extended her thanks to the Acts of Kindness Club as well. But―

“I’m afraid I cannot accept your thanks.”
“?”

Lydie, perhaps surprised at my response, momentarily paused her speech. Then, I boldly smiled before following up.

“All of that can come after we’ve made this a success, isn’t that right, club president?”
“She’s rightー”
“Lydie, you always get ahead of yourself.”
“… Haha, I guess so. You’ve got a point.”

WIth an awkward smile, Lydie continued from where she left off.

“Alright then, we’ll save that for later. Everyone, there’s just a little more to go, let’s give it our all and give a performance we won’t regret!”
“Yeah!”
“Whoo!”
“Let’s do this!”

Our morale was high. It didn’t seem like any of the members were too nervous either, so it seemed as though our play would go well.

“But hm… Mei certainly seems to be taking her time…”

 ◆◇◆◇◆

“W-We’re late…!”
“Lily and I rushed here as quickly as we could… Wait, what happened?”

When Lily-sama and Simone opened the door to the greenroom, they instantly picked up on the tense air.

“Mei still isn’t here.”
“W-What!?”

We had less than five minutes until the curtains would rise, and yet, Mei had still not made it to the theater. In face of the sudden and unexpected trouble, the club president’s, Lydie’s expression, had soured.

“Just what could have…”
“I don’t know. If something came up, I’m sure Mei would contact me but…”

Mei was able to use telepathy. Her throughput was also very high, so she should’ve been able to reach me easily considering we were both still on Academy grounds.

“Club President!”
“Mm! Did you find Mei!?”
“Unfortunately not, I can’t find her anywhere!”
“No…”

Lydie just stood there at a loss for what to do. Like she herself had said when she approached us, Mei’s role was a minor one, but not one that the play could do without. In other words, Mei’s absence… Meant that we wouldn’t be able to put on the play.

(… Alea, I’m sorry.)
“Mei!? Everyone, please be quiet! Mei’s speaking to me telepathically! Mei, can you expand the channel so that everyone can listen in?”

At my request, my surroundings instantly sank to silence.

“Mei, just where are you!?”
(… I’m not too far from the Academy’s back gates. I’m dealing with a monster.)
“A monster!?”

Overcome by my surprise, those words came out almost like a scream.

“… Do you remember, the other day, that snake-like monster that attacked Yuria? I guess its friends were still on campus. It’s that same monster and there’s just about… 12.”
“No…”

If 12 of those things had made their way onto academy grounds… This wasn’t the time to be having a Culture Festival.

(… Mei will figure out a way to deal with the monsters, but she probably won’t make it back in time for the play.)
“I’ll be right there!”
“You can’t!”

Rather unusually, Mei came off very strongly as she forced me to stop.

(… If you were to come here too, this time the play really would have to be canceled.)
“I mean we could say the same about you, couldn’t we, Mei! Just who can take your―”
(… Ask Lily-sama to take over for me.)
“!?”

Mei’s suggestion came as a surprise.

“Y-You mean L-Lily…!?”
(… Lily-sama has the entire script memorized.)
“B-But just because Lily knows the script… Acting is…”
(… You were practicing with Alea, weren’t you? Lily-sama, you’ll be fine.)

It turned out that Mei saw us on that night when Lily-sama and I were practicing together.

“B-But…”
“Please, Lily-sama, I’m begging you.”
“Lydie-san…”
“There isn’t much time before the play begins, we don’t have any other options…!”
“Mm… Urk…”

Lily-sama was put in a difficult position. She was always rather reserved and shy, so perhaps she was able to help me with my practice when no one was watching, but… she wasn’t confident actually performing on stage.

(… Lily-sama, please. Mei will make sure that the Culture Festival goes on. Lily-sama and Alea, you two focus on the play. We need to make both a success, or else we’ll regret it…)
“M-Mei-chan…”

I could hear Mei’s earnesty, and Lily-sama picked up on that as well.

“Come on Lily-sama, let’s do this.”
“A-, Alea-chan, not you too…”
“Lily-sama, if you don’t do this, the play itself will have to be canceled. Don’t worry about whether or not you’ll fail, or how you’ll do, just give it your best shot.”

Taking a firm hold of Lily-sama’s shoulders, I looked straight into her eyes. I believed in her. Lily-sama may appear to be timid and weak-willed, but I had faith that for the sake of those who depend on her, she would find the strength to rise to the challenge

And of course, my faith in her was not a blind one. While Lily-sama’s eyes wavered with hesitation, they soon took on a light of determination.

“… A-Alright. Please allow Lily to do this…!”
“The costume! We have until she takes the stage to adjust Mei’s costume to fit her!”
“I’m already on it!”
“Alea, Lily-sama, you two should do a quick runthrough and a final check before it’s your time to take the stage! Everyone else, get in position! It’s time to start the show!”

Lydie very efficiently gave directions and the club members rushed to take care of things.

“A-Alea-chan…”
“You’ll be fine, I’m sure we’ll pull through.”

I couldn’t claim that I didn’t feel at all anxious, but doing my best to not let Lily-sama pick up on that, I gave a confident nod.

―It was finally time… For the curtain to be raised.


Translator Note: When I originally translated this, I thought things would turn out this way when they practised together… Turns out my hunch was right! I didn’t expect it to be for these reasons though.

< PreviousTurn Around and Face MeNext >

If you have the means and are feeling generous, please consider supporting me at my Ko-fi.

1 Comment

  1. I wanted him to act with Mei but since😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment